The National Virtual Debating competition is organised by the Association of Independent Schools. It is a yearly online debating tournament open to all schools in Australia. The College has entered debating teams in this competition previously, however, this is the first time a Middle School division (Years 9 and 10) team has taken part.   

Each division consists of 32 teams and is split into eight groups of four. The College was placed in Group H and debated St Luke’s Anglican School (Bundaberg), Newcastle Grammar School and the Snowy Mountains Grammar School (Jindabyne).  

A team usually consists of four members, the fourth does not have a speaking role. Alistair Brett, Elizabeth Leaver, Penny Tassicker, Isabel Thomas, Nichola Williams and Taso Bookarof took turns at debating.   

In this division, debaters are under duress as they have one hour to interpret the topic, devise a team model that will best suit the arguments formulated and predict the opposing team’s arguments. Computer and internet access is only allowed for the first fifteen-minutes of preparation time. 

Three debates took place in the space of five school days: 30 July, 2 and 5 August. The topics included: 

  • Community service should be compulsory for the School Certificate, 
  • People who earn over the median income should be banned from running for parliament 
  • Medicare should cover elective cosmetic surgery. 

The College won two of the three debates. This means the school should progress to the knockout stage which will be held in Term 4.  

Take a deep bow debating students as the College applauds you for your expertise and dedication to this extra- curricular activity. 

Mrs Tess McDonagh 

Debate Team Coach